Arab and Islamic

The lines between the two identities of Muslim and Arab are usually blurred for many. Individuals tend to use the labels synonymously without truly understanding the grave difference. While being Arab indicates being from the same region and sharing culture, Muslim however is a religious affiliation.  During my visit to Paris, I had the opportunity of  share both religious and culture spaces.

                  Our first stop was the Mosque, which is the Islamic place of worship. As we approached the building, I just felt a sense of familiarity as if I had seen it before. It was then I remembered a scene in Je t’aime Paris.  Islam is the second largest religion in France. It was reported that since 1950, France opened its borders and had a large influx of Muslim immigrants. The religion has gained media attention in the nation especially in regards to women and the burqua and the introduction of hallal burgers.  Although, this was not my first time in a Mosque, it was definitely a defying moment.  The Garden was absolutely breathtaking. The tiles and color coordination worked. It was quite pleasing aesthetically.  

Image

 

Image

 

                Our second stop on the tour was the Modern Arab museum. The building was so futuristic, it was one of the most interesting concepts I have ever seen from an architectural perspective. The glass like material used in the construction beamed as we approached. Although, the museum itself was one of the shortest when compared to Parisian museums such as Louvre, it contained interesting paintings, jewelry, pottery and instruments etc that share Arab influences.

Image

 

 The highlight of our tour was the meal at the Lebanese restaurant. I loved the décor and aura of the restaurant, which was located in the museum. I was not accustomed to the meal; it was different and took me a while to get acquainted with. I had an array of hummus, falafel, lamb etc.  My favorite part of the course was the water, which contained mint leaves. This was not only refreshing but gave me sense of nostalgia. It reminded me of days with my grandmother and cousins, where we would drink mint tea before bed.

Image

 

Image

One thought on “Arab and Islamic

Leave a comment